Are Double Hits Allowed in Pickleball?

Home » Pickleball Tips » Are Double Hits Allowed in Pickleball?

Are you on the court as we speak, bickering with your opponent about the rules of pickleball? Are you just trying to learn how to play pickleball?

Either way, here’s the Pickleball Savant guide to everything you need to know about double hits in pickleball.

Can You Double Hit in Pickleball?

No, according to the official rules of pickleball, the same player hitting the ball twice in a row is not allowed. A double hit occurs when a player hits the ball twice in succession without it touching another player or the ground in between the two hits. It is considered a fault, and the opposing team would be awarded the point.

Can Doubles Teammates Hit the Pickleball Twice in a Row?

No, two players on the same team cannot hit the pickleball twice in a row. Just like in singles, this is an illegal double hit. The ball must touch another player or the ground before being struck again. Violating this rule results in a fault and the opposing team being awarded the point.

What Else is Illegal in Pickleball?

In pickleball, illegal moves like hitting the ball twice in a row result in a fault or loss of the point. 

Here are other illegal moves besides double hits to keep in mind while playing pickleball:

Volleying from the Non-Volley Zone (Kitchen): 

When a player steps into the Non-Volley Zone (a seven-foot area on both sides of the net) and hits the ball out of the air (volleys), it is considered an illegal hit. 

The player must have both feet behind the Non-Volley Zone line to volley the ball. 

Volleying before the Ball Bounces:

Unless the ball bounces first, volleys are not allowed. If a player hits the ball in the air (volleys) before it has bounced on their side, it is an illegal hit. 

Hitting the Ball Out of Bounds: 

If the ball is hit beyond the boundaries of the court, it is considered out of bounds, resulting in a fault. The ball must land within the boundaries of the court to be considered a legal hit. 

Carrying or Slingshotting the Ball: 

Carrying or slingshotting the ball occurs when a player scoops, holds, or slings the ball with excessive spin or prolonged contact. This is considered an illegal hit. 

Touching the Net: 

If a player touches the net with their body, paddle, or any other object while the ball is in play, it is an illegal hit and results in a fault. It’s important to note that these rules may vary slightly depending on the specific organization or level of play, so it’s always a good idea to familiarize yourself with the rules of the particular game you are participating in. 

Learn more in this guide: Can You Hit the Net in Pickleball?

How To Learn The Rules of Pickleball?

Get pickleball tips from the experts at Pickleball Savant. Learn how to play pickleball and stay up to the date with pickleball news involved the pros in Major League Pickleball and the Pro Pickleball Association tour.


Articles You Might Like

Share This Article